🔍 Read the full analysis: What You Get With ChatGPT Pro After OpenAI’s Changes on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
On October 29, OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now receive the higher one; users who already had it keep it. Prices and several separate chat limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to an October 29 update. The company says existing subscribers receive the changes automatically, while subscription prices remain unchanged.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The company’s updated help page clarifies the Pro 200 change: only subscribers on its lower allowance have that amount doubled, bringing it up to the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI had planned to reduce Pro 200 usage from October 30, but says it has canceled that reduction.
Work and Codex share one allowance, rather than having separate usage pools. Work supports longer tasks such as research and document work, while Codex is OpenAI’s coding agent. Increasing this shared allowance gives subscribers more room for those activities; it does not double every ChatGPT limit. The updated help page says existing subscribers receive the change automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.
Several limits and prices stay as they were. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. The release notes also say Business Premium usage is increasing, but do not specify a multiplier.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Allowances Affect Subscribers
The change matters because OpenAI had told some Pro 200 subscribers to expect less usage at the same $200 monthly price. Canceling that plan avoids the announced reduction, while the increased Work and Codex pools give Pro subscribers more capacity for longer tasks and coding work. The details matter for anyone comparing plans: the increase applies to a shared allowance, not every feature or message limit.
For businesses, the announcement changes the expected capacity included with some subscriptions, but leaves unanswered how much extra Business Premium users will receive. Companies reviewing seat costs should distinguish those subscription allowances from API spending and other service limits; the source material does not say those budgets changed. For individual users, a higher allowance may help with heavier Work or Codex use, but it is not a guarantee of twice as much completed work. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode.
The plans still differ in price and features. Pro 100 costs $100 a month, Pro 200 costs $200, and Pro 500 costs $500. Business Premium is listed at $100 per user monthly when billed annually or $125 monthly. Plus remains $20 a month, with no usage change announced. These figures and limits describe the plans in the supplied October 30 source; readers should check OpenAI’s current plan pages for later changes.
Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Pro 14‑inch (2021) with M1 Pro, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD – Space Gray

Apple MacBook Pro 2021 16‑inch with M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Gray (QWERTY English)

Apple MacBook Pro (14.2-inch, 2025) – M5 chip, 16GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From September’s Cut to October’s Reversal
The October announcement followed a series of changes to OpenAI’s higher-priced plans. The source reports that OpenAI paused new Pro 200 sign-ups on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That description is Sottiaux’s characterization, not an independently established measure of demand.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. A release note said included usage allowances were changing, while the monthly price would remain $200 for Pro 200. Sottiaux described the planned usage ladder on X as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing Pro 200 subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier temporarily. The October 29 reversal came one day before the announced Pro 200 reduction was due to take effect.
OpenAI’s release notes give the clearest description of the final change, and its help page supplies the Pro 200 qualification. Sottiaux’s broader social-media wording said all usage limits were doubling for Pro 100, 200 and 500 and Business Premium. That statement does not match the more specific help-page details for GPT-6 Pro chat limits, so the plan-by-plan description here follows the help page and release notes.
““We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.””
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
Business Usage and Limits Still Unspecified
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state how much. Sottiaux’s post described the increase as a doubling, but the source material provides no matching factor in the official release note or updated help-page details. The exact amount Business Premium subscribers receive is therefore not established by the available information.
The announcement also does not provide a fixed estimate of how many tasks a doubled Work and Codex allowance will support. OpenAI says consumption depends on the model, task and speed mode, so users may not experience the same practical capacity. The source does not describe changes to plans that were not named in the October 29 notes, including Business Standard, Go and Free.
Check Plan Details Before Changing Tiers
The immediate change is automatic for existing subscribers, and OpenAI says new subscriptions include the updated allowance. Users do not need to wait for a renewal or take an action to receive it. The next useful step for subscribers is to check their account’s usage page and current plan details to see how the shared allowance applies to their own activity.
Businesses considering seat changes may want to confirm the Business Premium allowance directly with OpenAI, since the public release note does not give a number. Further plan updates could clarify that amount or revise other limits; no additional change or timetable is provided in the source material. Until then, the confirmed announcement is limited to the specified Work and Codex allowances and the Pro 200 reduction that has been canceled.
Key Questions
What changed for ChatGPT Pro on October 29?
OpenAI doubled the previous shared Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and canceled a planned Pro 200 reduction. Pro 200 users on the lower allowance now receive the higher one; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it.
Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?
No. OpenAI says the Work and Codex allowance increased on Pro 100 and Pro 500, but their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits did not change. On Pro 200, the lower weekly chat limit now matches the higher one. The changes do not apply to every ChatGPT feature.
Did ChatGPT Pro prices change?
No price change was announced. The plans remain listed as $100, $200 and $500 per month for Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, respectively. Plus remains $20 per month.
How much more usage does Business Premium get?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a number. Sottiaux said it was doubling, but that factor is not specified in the official release note described in the source material.
Do existing subscribers need to take action?
No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal. Subscribers can check their account’s usage page for details about their own plan.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
